Hesperus is Bosphorus

A group blog by philosophers in and from Turkey

CfP Proclus Conference in Istanbul Dec. 2012

leave a comment »

Archai: Proclus Diadochus of Constantinople and his Abrahamic interpreters

In commemoration of the 1600th anniversary of the birth in Constantinople of Proclus, fourth last head of the Platonic Academy, we invite scholars to present papers both on all aspects both of Proclus’ own thought and of his reception in the Abrahamic traditions. The conference will be hosted by Fatih University and Yildiz University (Istanbul) from December 12-16, 2012 in Istanbul.

Prof. Carlos Steel (K.U. Leuven) will give the keynote lecture for the entire conference. There will be three plenary lectures: Prof. Wayne J. Hankey (Dalhousie University / University of King’s College (Halifax)) on the Christian reception; Prof. Richard C. Taylor (Marquette University; visiting professor at K.U. Leuven & Universidad Panamericana) on the Islamic reception; and Prof. Tzvi Langermann (Bar-Ilan University) on Jewish reception. Prof. D. O’Meara (Universität Freiburg) will give a public lecture on Proclus’ influence on the architecture of the Haggia Sophia, together with a choral concert of sacred music by the chamber choir, ChorISTanbul. A conference outing will be planned for Sunday, December 16.

Papers will be 20-25 minutes long, although there may be some flexibility given some merit. Please submit an abstract of approximately 300-500 words by Friday, September 14, 2012 to David Butorac at Proclusinistanbul@gmail.com, with letters of acceptance issued by Monday, September 17.

For further details:
[The site should be up any day!]

The advisory committee includes:
David Butorac (Fatih University)
Süleyman Dogan (Yildiz University)
Carlos Steel (K.U. Leuven)
Dominic O’Meara (Universität Freiburg)
Wayne J. Hankey (Dalhousie / University of King’s College (Halifax))
Dimitri Gutas (Yale University)
Caroline Macé (K.U. Leuven)
Marije Martijn (Vrije Universiteit, Amsterdam)
Bert van den Berg (Universiteit Leiden)

Confirmed speakers include:
Carlos Steel, Dominic O’Meara, Wayne J. Hankey, Tzvi Langermann, Stephen Gersh (University of Notre Dame), Helen Lang (Villanova University), Thomas Curran (University of King’s College, Halifax), Sarah Klitenic-Wear (Stubenville University), Menahem Luz (University of Haifa), Tim Riggs (University of Jyväskylä), Michele Trizio (University of Bari), J.M. Charrue (Université de Lille III, Paris), Levan Gigineishvili (Ilia State University), Andras Kraft (Central European University), Frederick Lauritzen (Fondazione per la Scienza Religiose), Georgios Steris (National and Kapodistrian University of Athens), Gheorghe Pascalau (Universität Heidelberg), Gary Gabor (Boston College), Torrance Kirby (McGill University), Danny Layne (Georgia Southern University), John Walbridge (Indiana University), Eugene Afonasin (Novosibirsk State University) and Anna Afonasin (Novosibirsk State University)

Additional conference funding will be sought through TÜBİTAK (The Scientific and Technological Research Council of Turkey).


Written by rainerbroemer

August 29, 2012 at 10:27 am

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: